It's that time of year again! The snow has fallen and  it's time to gear up for the long road of races ahead.  This will be a shorter blog post, explaining the build up to the race season.
The CVTC team headed out to Canmore on Monday to get a few days of training in before the racing begins. Whistler has enough snow on the upper loops to groom a decently skiable loop, however it is much more enjoyable to be in Canmore to ski on excellent conditions and a variety of trail. The team will be competing in three race weekends in a row including the Alberta Cup in Canmore, the Sovereign Lakes NORAM in Silverstar, and World Junior Trials in Rossland, respectively. 
Approaching the first races of the year I find can be difficult because you have gone the past seven months in training mode and it can be a challenge to get back in tune with racing. Usually one race weekend is enough to get me back on my feet though. I am also moving up a category this year so I'm looking forward to seeing whether all the hard work I've put in will stand up to the challenge. 
Getting back on skis definitely feels good and I'm finally beginning to realize the fitness level I'm currently at. I've been focusing the past couple of weeks on putting my mind back on racing and regaining the confidence I need to compete. It's definitely paying off and I believe that I'm heading into the first races on good terms.
I have recently received all my equipment, also which is great timing before the races. Shoutout to Fischer, and Swix for supplying all my skis, boots and poles. Also to Bliz for my sunglasses and Halti for our winter clothing. I love all the new gear!
The energy is back, the team is looking fast, and the racing excitement is in the air. I wish all competitors the best of luck and look forward to seeing all the familiar faces for another season!

Liam Patterson



Leave a Reply.